Skip to content

Haynes Park and another unruly toddler

05/14/2013

Yesterday I took the kids to a park here in Rio Rancho to play before going to the grocery store.  It has a nice playground and is right across the street from where my wife works so we go there often.  They used to have a really nice pond, which was actually for drainage, there that was full of reeds and cattails.  Frogs and turtles and some minnows used to live in there and it attracted lots of Red-Winged Blackbirds and Black-Chinned Hummingbirds.  But over the winter they cleaned it out and not it looks ugly.  They’ve also taken reeds out of another part, but they look to be creating a garden and maybe a smaller managed pond.  But the old one had so much more character because it was spontaneous.

 

But on to yesterday’s trip.  After playing around on the playground equipment, my daughter took out soccer ball over a large, sunken field to run around.  I was getting the stroller and my son a spot in a shade when I saw her chasing a killdeer around the field.  She was laughing as it flew about 10 feet in front of her.  I ran down to play with her when I noticed that he Killdeer was really trying to get our attention.  It then did the wounded bird dance that they use to get people away from their nest.  So I froze and told my daughter that there may be eggs and a nest, so to take it easy and maybe we could see it.  It was also time for the lunch game of soccer that are played there by Intel workers.  We looked around and saw a second Killdeer adult and it too was being noisy and flying around.  Finally we noticed what they were excited about, a Killdeer chick, not a nest.  It was walking around ignoring the calls from it’s parents to get out of everyone’s way, typical toddler behavior which I am all too familiar with.  I really regretted not having my camera with us.  And then I saw a bright flash of color fly by me and into a nearby tree.  I walked up and saw dark wings and a very bright orange head, a Western Tanager! That  decided for me to walk back and get my camera from the van.

So after a trek across the park and back I managed to get some shots of the Killdeer family and the Tanager.  But we couldn’t get too close to the Killdeer chick, we were forcing them close to a really busy road and the parents were actually flying over some lanes, so we moved off and let them relax.

Killdeer adult and chick, Rio Rancho NM

Killdeer adult and chick, Rio Rancho NM

Killdeer Adult, Rio Rancho NM

Killdeer Adult, Rio Rancho NM

Killdeer playing wounded, Rio Rancho NM

Killdeer playing wounded, Rio Rancho NM

Western Tanager, Rio Rancho NM

Western Tanager, Rio Rancho NM

And some of the other wildlife from the park:

Whiptail Lizard, Rio Rancho NM

Whiptail Lizard, Rio Rancho NM

Western Scrub Jay, Rio Rancho NM

Western Scrub Jay, Rio Rancho NM

 

Gambel's Quail calling, Rio Rancho NM

Gambel’s Quail calling, Rio Rancho NM

 

 

 

 

 

From → birding

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

