Skip to content

Full Spring Ahead

04/22/2013

I guess I’ll say sorry for not updating recently.  And by that I mean that there’s going to be lots of photos here because I have been getting out often.  But after what happened last week in Boston, I really didn’t have the heart to talk about birds.  But since I’ve seen a rarity and have knocked over 10 birds off of my challenge list, I thought that I’d update things.

Two weekends ago I went out to Cibola National Forest and the east side of Sandia Peak to try and get some mountain birds.  My targets were Red-Breasted and Pygmy Nuthatches, Red Crossbills, and Stellar’s Jay.  Plus anything else that I could find, like my nemesis bird, the Cedar Waxwing.

But I ended up seeing the Red-Breasted Nuthatch, Red Crossbills and Stellar’s Jay, so it was a good day.  In a few weeks more of the mountain will be open and it will be easier to see more birds.

Townsend's Solitaires not being very solitary Sandia Peak, Cibola National Forest NM

Townsend’s Solitaires not being very solitary Sandia Peak, Cibola National Forest NM

Pine Siskin, notice the yellow on the wings Sandia Peak, Cibola National Forest NM

Pine Siskin, notice the yellow on the wings Sandia Peak, Cibola National Forest NM

This may be one of my favorite photos of the year.  I wonder what they are talking about.

Red Crossbills  Sandia Peak, Cibola National Forest, NM

Red Crossbills Sandia Peak, Cibola National Forest, NM

 

 

Dark Eyed Junco (grey-headed) Sandia Peak, Cibola National Forest, NM

Dark Eyed Junco (grey-headed) Sandia Peak, Cibola National Forest, NM

 

Red-Breasted Nuthatch, Sandia Peak, Cibola National Forest NM

Red-Breasted Nuthatch, Sandia Peak, Cibola National Forest NM

And this great owl hole appeared to be empty

Hole in a tree on Sandia Peak.

Hole in a tree on Sandia Peak.

And I’d like to know who does this in a National Forest because I’d like to punch them in the nose.

1-20130413_283

I met some friends, Joe and Rebecca, who were out Butterflying and here’s a few that we saw:

1-20130413_2641-20130413_184

 

Here are some neat shots from the past couple weeks.  Some were taken in Corrales on my quest for Cedar Stupid Waxwings.  Here’s my life in a nutshell.  I took the kids on a Thursday Birder trip there 2 weeks ago and they weren’t being very cooperative, so we went on our own walk and 5 minutes later the rest of the group saw a flock of 8 Cedar Waxwings.  Ok, on to more photos.

Say's Phoebe with an 8-legged snack

Say’s Phoebe with an 8-legged snack

Barn Swallows on a wire

Barn Swallows on a wire

Red-Tailed Hawk, Rio Rancho NM (my house is right over the hill)

Red-Tailed Hawk, Rio Rancho NM (my house is right over the hill)

And here are some photos from the Saturday morning bird walk at Rio Grande Nature Center from April 20th.  I’ll start off with a rare bird and life bird for me, a Broad Winged Hawk.  It was ID’d by much better birders than me, but the photo confirms it.  The range maps say that it shouldn’t be west of Louisiana.  I managed to knock out 6 birds for my challenge on Saturday alone. Spring is here, but in New Mexico we typically don’t have a spring.  We just have windy and less windy Summer.

Broad Winged Hawk over ABQ, NM

Broad Winged Hawk over ABQ, NM

Black-Chinned Hummingbird, first one of the year.  RGNC, NM

Black-Chinned Hummingbird, first one of the year. RGNC, NM

Black Phoebe, RGNC, NM

Black Phoebe, RGNC, NM

Northern Mockingbird, RGNC, NM

Northern Mockingbird, RGNC, NM

Ruddy Duck going for a dive, RGNC NM

Ruddy Duck going for a dive, RGNC NM

Lesser Gold Finch, RGNC, NM

Lesser Gold Finch, RGNC, NM

 

Female Wood Duck inspecting potential nest sites, RGNC, ABQ NM

Female Wood Duck inspecting potential nest sites, RGNC, ABQ NM

Downy WP, RGNC, NM

Downy WP, RGNC, NM

Blue-Gray Gnatcatcher, RGNC, NM

Blue-Gray Gnatcatcher, RGNC, NM

 

And here are some poor photos of a Belted Kingfisher diving for food.  I saw it make a good splash, but alas, no photo of it.

Belted Kingfisher, RGNC NM

Belted Kingfisher, RGNC NM

Belted Kingfisher, RGNC NM

Belted Kingfisher, RGNC NM

So if you’ve made it this far then thanks.  I missed photos of a pair of Swainson’s Hawks flying together.  The rangers at the Nature Center said that they nested there last year and may be nesting again.  So the birds that I’ve seen since my last post for my challenge were: Red Crossbill, Stellar’s Jay, Red-Breasted Nuthatch, Orange-Crowned Warbler, Northern Mockingbird, Violet-Green Swallow, Tree Swallow, and Black-Chinned Hummingbird.  I’m actually sure that I’ve forgotten a bird or 3 from the last week.  And according to eBird I’ve seen 95 species so far this year.  I’ll have an East Coast trip and maybe Arizona trips to add to that number.  Plus some trips dedicated to getting my guidebook challenge done.  And if you see a Cedar Waxwing, CALL ME!

 

I’d like to dedicate this post to my dad’s Uncle Vince who passed away in his sleep Friday.  He was always good for a laugh and really enjoyed life in his own way.

From → birding

One Comment
  1. My favorite photos were of the Broad-winged Hawk and the Wood Duck inspecting potential nest hole.

Leave a Reply

