Skip to content

Howdy

04/08/2011

My name is Steve and this is my story.

I am in my mid 30’s and I recently moved from Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania to Albuquerque, New Mexico with my wife and daughter.  My wife is finishing her PhD from Carnegie Mellon and got hired with a little semiconductor company in Rio Rancho, New Mexico.  Our daughter is 14 months old and just starting to walk.
We’ve been in New Mexico for a little over a month and are loving it.  We’re currently in an apartment, but are looking for a house.  We’ve seen some of the local sights and I’ve taken a few photographs of them.  We’ve had green chile as often as we can and even found a decent pizza place.

Ever since my wife and I got serious, we’ve talked about getting out of Pittsburgh.  Both of our families are there, most of our friends were there too, but it just wasn’t what we wanted.  The traffic sucks, the weather sucks and we didn’t want our daughter around all of the marcellus shale drilling that was starting up.

My wife’s job offer was good enough that I was able to quit my job of 14 years and not look back.  I worked as a lab tech for a multinational coatings company and was not happy there.  I am now taking care of our daughter full time and it is much more rewarding.  The stress level is still high, but she is awesome and we have lots of fun.  She is the most curious kid that I’ve ever met and she laughs all day long.

So, to wrap this up, I’m going to try and share some of the things that I’ve learned and seen with my daughter.  Talk about some gadgets, point out some good beer and food in the Rio Grande Valley and hopefully help some other stay at home dads and ABQ transplants.

From → Uncategorized

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

